The Blades Saga

MEET BLADES! HE IS A 2.5 YEAR OLD BUCK FROM PENNSYLVANIA AND RECENTLY I ADDED SOME MORE HISTORY TO HIS STORY. SO I DECIDED HE DESERVED A STORY OF HIS OWN TO BE SHARED AND FOLLOWED. THE FIRST TIME I CAME ACROSS HIM WAS ABOUT 1 YEAR AGO, HE SHOWED UP ON TRAIL CAMERA WINTERING ON ONE OF THE PROPERTIES I HUNT. I HAD NOT DOCUMENTED ANY PREVIOUS PICTURES OF HIM EARLIER THAT SEASON. BEING THAT HE WAS ONLY A 1.5 YEAR OLD BUCK I DID NOT PAY AS MUCH ATTENTION TO HIM AS I DO THE OLDER ONES. BUT IN FEBRUARY WHILE GOING TO CHECK MY CAMERAS I FOUND THE RIGHT SIDE SHED OFF OF HIM. HE HAD A UNIQUE BLADED MAIN BEAM FOR A 1.5 OLD BUCK AND THEN I STUDIED HIS PICTURES AND REALIZED HIS RACK LAID BACK ON HIS HEAD FARTHER THEN NORMAL. FROM THAT POINT ON HE WAS KNOWN AS BLADES. ALTHOUGH I WAS CURIOUS WHAT HE WOULD LOOK LIKE AS A 2.5 YEAR OLD I HAD MY SIGHTS SET ON OTHER BUCK THAT SUMMER. BLADES SHOWED UP ON CAMERA WITH A BACHELOR GROUP OF BUCKS MID SUMMER AND HE DID NOT DISAPPOINT. HIS BLADED MAIN BEAMS AND THE WAY HIS RACK LAYS BACK ON TOP OF HIS HEAD WERE A DEAD GIVEAWAY THAT IS WAS HIM. KNOWING HE WAS YOUNG AND I WAS CHASING 3.5 OR OLDER DEER ALL I COULD DO IS HOPE AND PRAY HE WOULD MAKE IT THROUGH THE SEASON.

ARCHERY SEASON CAME AND WENT AND ALL I HAD TO SHOW FOR IT WERE A BUNCH OF GREAT TRAIL CAMERA PICS. I DID’NT HAVE MY FIRST ENCOUNTER WITH BLADES UNTIL OPENING DAY OF RIFLE SEASON. THE NIGHT BEFORE OPENING DAY OF RIFLE I HALF JOKINGLY TOLD MY COUSIN IF BLADES WOULD SHOW UP IT WOULD BE TOUGH TO PASS HIM WITH A BOW IN RIFLE SEASON. AS THE MORNING WENT ON A GROUP OF DEER WERE STAGING UP IN A THICKET ABOVE ME. I CAUGHT ONE LOOK AT A RACKED BUCK AND THOUGHT THAT IS BLADES FOLLOWING THAT GROUP OF DEER IN THERE. BEING ABLE TO WATCH HIM FOR 15 MINS BEFORE HE CAME IN TO 28 YARDS MADE NOT PICKING MY BOW UP AN EASY CHOICE. THERE ARE MANY HUNTERS OUT THERE THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN HAPPY SHOOTING HIM WITH A RIFLE LET ALONE A BOW IN RIFLE SEASON. KNOWING WHAT I KNEW ABOUT HIM BEING ONLY A 2.5 YEAR OLD BUCK WITH GREAT POTENTIAL MADE IT A NO BRAINER TO ENJOY THE SHOW AND LET HIM GO. IF YOU EVER GET TO EXPERIENCE SITTING BACK AND PASSING A BUCK THEN YOU KNOW FIRST HAND HOW ENJOYABLE THAT CAN BE. WITH MY SEASON COMING TO AN END I WAS 100% SATISFIED NOT FILLING MY TAG. AT LEAST 3 OF THE RACKED BUCK I COULD HAVE SHOT SURVIVED AND WILL BE AROUND TO CHASE IN FALL OF 2017! I KNOW THIS BECAUSE OF TRAIL CAMERA PICS ON A FEW AND ON THE LAST DAY OF THE PA SEASON I WAS FORTUNATE TO STUMBLE ONTO THE LEFT SIDE SHED FROM BLADES. THAT PUT TWO SHEDS OFF THAT BUCK IN MY HANDS AND GOOD INFORMATION GOING INTO 2017. KEEP FOLLOWING ALONG AS I WILL POST UPDATES ON THE WEBSITE AND SOCIAL MEDIA AS I CONTINUE THE HUNT FOR THIS BUCK AND MANY OTHERS!

COLE MOUNTAIN

Leave a Reply

